Pierced ears & a sleep over…


 

To my darling, Baby Girl

Just two weeks ago, you celebrated your 8th Birthday.  I cannot believe that you are eight already, but what I can’t believe is how grown up you are.  You are handling turning eight with such gusto and style, you have made your Dad and I very proud of you.

Firstly, you had your ears pierced.  You paid with it with your birthday money, and you didn’t even cry.  And you are handling the turning of and cleaning of your earings with such mature responsibility.  Baby, I am so, so proud of you.

And then, on Monday night you had your first sleep over.  Your Dad and I had a great evening together, but I woke up at about 01:00 the next morning (which is normally the time you would call for me), and I missed you terribly.  In fact, I was almost tempted to phone them and ask if I could come fetch you.  And again – you didn’t need me, you were absolutely fine and you had a great time.

Two big coming of age firsts in one school holiday.

Baby Girl, your dad and I love you and adore you, and the one thing I have realised is that if I can love you so much, how much more does God in Heaven love us – when He is infinite, and I am finite; He is all-knowing, and I am not; He is love, I am frail and human and weak.

Always remember that where your Dad and I may fail you because we are human, and weak, and finite – our Father in Heaven will never fail you.  That doesn’t mean you won’t go through hard times, but it does mean He will be with you every step of the way.

All my love – forever!

The Baby Mama

One thought on “Pierced ears & a sleep over…

Leave a Reply

