Don’t be an earth pony when you can be a Unicorn!


Every Thursday I write Baby Girl a letter – 

I want her to know she is loved, and precious!

To my darling, Baby Girl.

You are going through a My Little Pony phase.  You love that show and watch it all the time.  And yet, I think there is an important lesson to be learnt from this show.  You see, the other day when we went away, and you met some new friends, you became – well, differently.  You started acting all arrogant, and smart-Alec, and doing things that you wouldn’t normally do – I think to impress your new friends.

I tried to explain to you the importance of just being yourself – and you said to me, “Mom, I don’t understand.  I’m only 7…”  And you’re right.  Because in that moment, you think you are being yourself.  You don’t understand that you are acting out to impress, or because you’re feeling insecure.  But, know this: the sweet, kind and wonderful little girl that you are is the little girl that is going to make lots of friends and go somewhere in life.  

You don’t have to be an earth pony when you can be a unicorn.

In fact, earth ponies trying to be unicorns is a recipe for disaster.  And unicorns trying to be earth ponies is a recipe for restlessness.  In both instances, no-one is being true to themselves.

Everybody is a genius.  But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.  Albert Einstein.

Never put yourself in a position that you start thinking and believing that you’re something that you’re not.  Rather put all that energy into loving yourself and accepting yourself for who you are.

You’re a magical unicorn, my love, not an earth pony.

Remember who you are!

Leave a Reply

