Defiance


Every Thursday I write Baby Girl a letter – I want her to know she is loved, and precious!

To my darling, Baby Girl

Oh, my…  you have a trait that I simultaneously love and hate about you.  You are so defiant.  I love that you will do what you want, the way that you want – I love that you know yourself well enough to know what you want to do and how you want to do it.

But,

I seriously wish you’d listen to your Dad and I.  We only want what’s best for you and we’re just simply trying to help you.  You’re so determined to do it on your own, that you forget you need people – people who love you and want to guide you and want to help you.  you can’t do it all on your own.  And your Dad and I want nothing more to assist you in whatever it is that you need to do.

Stop pushing us away.  Not when we love you so much.

I saw the other costumes at school – you made do, because you argued with us.  You didn’t put your best foot forward.  You just wanted to get it done.  And I never want you to have that feeling of your not getting anywhere because you’re not doing the best that you can.  But, maybe, your Dad and I should let you fail.  Maybe we should let you feel left out so that you can realise – you need people.  We all do.  And you need to the best you can.  Being defiant against the people who love you isn’t going to get you anywhere.

Whatever the situation, or wherever you are in life (and whoever you are fighting against), always, always know how much your Dad and I love you.  And we always will.  

Leave a Reply

