Gratitude Mondays


Every Monday, I want to focus on gratitude – giving thanks for the myriad of blessings we have in our lives; if only we’d look…

1 Thessalonians 5:18 King James Version (KJV)In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

Yesterday, was my 17th wedding anniversary, and I am very grateful that we have made it to this point.  And although we didn’t do anything special or grand, I had the most amazing weekend.  Yesterday, was especially special for the normality of it all.  You see, between my learning to run and hubby cycling, we so seldom get to just spend the day together, and that is exactly what we did.  We started off the day with a run (so cool to run with my husband), and then fetched Baby Girl from Granny’s place, then did Nippers, then spent the afternoon at home with a little family braai.

In giving thanks for 17 years together, this is what I wrote to my husband this morning:

Hey, Babe

We didn’t really get time to talk yesterday, but I wanted to thank you for 17 awesome years of marriage.  Thank you for walking this journey with me, for choosing me, for loving me.  I know that we have had some rough years, some really good ones, some financially stressful years, some hard years after Baby Girl was born, but you know what?  I would do it all again in a heartbeat.  Not only do I have God on my side and my faith, but I have the most amazing husband and gorgeous daughter – I have everything I need and more so.  Yes, my love, I would do it in a heartbeat all over again – just to have you by my side, raising this precious little girl that we have been blessed with.  Thank you for 17 years – I look forward to another 17, and another 17 after that, and perhaps even if we’re lucky – another 17 after that…
I love you!

I do feel honoured to have this man choose me to be his wife!  And not only am I grateful for a wonderful weekend, I am also very, very grateful for 17 years of marriage.

The Baby Mama

Leave a Reply

