Letter to Baby Girl Thursdays


Every day of the week, I try to follow a theme – about my life, my marriageBaby Girl (she is the reason why I started this blog, after all, only to discover I had some childhood demons of my own to exorcise…).  Every Thursday, I get to write Baby Girl a letter…

To my darling, vivacious little girl…

I love you with all my heart.  And I am so proud of you – I see in you many qualities I wish I had.  Qualities of strength, of endurance, of tenacity.  I see in you wisdom and common sense I wish I had at your age.

I never had much of anything as a child – yes, my parents loved me, I have no doubt about that, but I didn’t get to do anything that I wanted to do.  Dancing was my great love and all I ever wanted to do was learn how to dance.  I used to dream about it, think about it, practice in my room – my mother eventually took me to dancing lessons when I was about 15; with a whole lot of six-year-old little girls.  Clearly, that didn’t work out for me.  So, I am so humbled to think that your Dad and I can give you dancing lessons and not only one genre, but Modern, Hip Hop and now you’ll do Ballet on Saturdays too.  And you enjoy it.  My darling, I must be honest, I don’t care if you do the exams or go professional, or do concerts, I want you to be happy.  I want you to discover who you are, I want you to have happy memories of your childhood and the only way I know how to do that is to give you the opportunity of experiencing new things, learning new skills, making new friends.  And you’re enjoying it – your Dad and I love to see you dancing in the backyard and singing to your heart’s content.  We love it.  You’ve brought such light to our lives and for that we will be eternally grateful.

Okay, the homework is another story.  I get that you don’t enjoy it – seriously, you’ve made that point quite clear.  VERY clear…  And I do get that you’ve already covered it in aftercare, but my darling, I want you to be the very best you can be.  I don’t care if you only get 60% on your report card if that’s the very best you can do.  It’s not about the mark or the grade, it’s about doing your best.  And glossing over your homework as quickly as possible, is not doing the best you can do.  I know you’re tired, I know I am tired after work, but we need to dedicate at least twenty minutes each day just going over your homework.  It is for your benefit.

Then, I have to say, we’re experiencing a major drought at the moment and we’re not allowed to water the garden or the lawns, but we are allowed to use a watering can.  And you, on your own, without any prompting from your dad or I, started to water the garden on your own initiative; using the watering can.  I love how you understand that we have a responsibility to the environment we live in – I don’t ever recall teaching you that, but yet, you know that…

For a woman who never wanted to have children, I am humbled and proud and very blessed to have you as my daughter.

The Baby Mama

One thought on “Letter to Baby Girl Thursdays

Leave a Reply

