Eat. Like Jesus did. Part 3.


Hebrews 12:1-2 NIV: Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles.  And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.  For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

It doesn’t matter if you’re a Christian or not.  People are watching.  I think that at heart we are all voyeurs.  We like to see what is going on in people’s lives and compare and point fingers and to learn and understand.  I’m not saying it is right – I’m just saying that we all do it.

But when you’re a Christian, people hold you to a higher standard.  When you fall, there are more people there to watch you fall, to watch you disgrace yourself, to watch you eat and get overweight.

It’s not fair.

But, it is just the way life is.

That is why it is so very important to strive to live a life that is pure and blameless.  And we will fail.  It is inevitable.  But it is in the striving that we grow and learn and endure.

Philippians 2:15 NIVso that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.”  Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky

And this holds true for all aspects of our lives – including eating.  If I am going to rid myself of all toxic thinking in relation to food – especially the toxic thought I am working on at present which is that I need to eat all the time: to prove myself, to calm myself, to find my value and my worth – then I need to disentangle myself from this toxic thought.  I need to grow a new healthy thought.  How do I know what a new healthy thought is?  Well, firstly, it will line up with God’s word.  Secondly, it will give me freedom – it will not hold me in bondage any longer.  For me – my new healthy thought lines up because the Bible speaks against gluttony.  Secondly, I know that I am in bondage at the moment because of this need to eat all the time.  Whereas the new healthy thought frees me up to live life, to enjoy my husband and family and friends and to connect with them over meal times, and to stop eating when I am full without any anxiety.

Disentangling is not easy.

But I will keep on keeping on because this is no life living in bondage.  And besides for the great crowd of witnesses watching me, Jesus also came to give us an abundant life.  And I want to live a life that is fulfilling and glorifying to God, our Saviour.  I want to run this race called life with my husband in arm, Baby Girl in tow, and towards glorious Heaven – knowing, quite simply, that I did the best that I could.  Consuming every morsel in sight is not doing the best that I can.  Christians need to look healthy and vibrant and full of energy and life – that is what attracts people.   Hiding at home and stuffing my face?  Not so much…

Today, I am grateful:

  1. Usually when people earnestly seek something – an answer, a solution, a new job – they find it.  And I am grateful that I know I will find a resolution to this toxic thought that so entangles me.  If God is for me – who can be against me?
  2. That hubby sorted my car out for me.  It was fine yesterday, and when I got in to leave for work this morning – in the blustering wind and pouring rain – the battery was dead.  As in completely dead.  So, hubby, who hadn’t had breakfast at that point, quickly took me to work and dropped Baby Girl off at holiday club, then went home to sort my car out.
  3. For having a warm bed and a roof over my head.  I seriously feel for people who are literally left out in the cold – with no idea where they will lay down tonight, keep warm and get a hot meal.  I am thankful for places like the Salvation Army who do the best that they can to feed and clothe the homeless.
  4. God’s love.  It’s a love that permeates my soul, my life, my love, my heart and gently and slowly makes changes in this stubborn heart of mine to make me more like Jesus.
  5. For the love of my husband.  Without whom I would’ve had to walk to work today. 😉

I have so much to be grateful for.

3 thoughts on “Eat. Like Jesus did. Part 3.

Leave a Reply

