Why Gratitude Works!


We have fibre.  Wow, South Africa has finally caught up to the rest of the world and our data is now supplied by fibre.  And because hubby is in the telecoms business, we have been able to get fibre to our home.  It is so, so nice.

And I have a laptop – that I haven’t used in years, because data has always been an issue and always been expensive.  So, it kinda became Baby Girl’s to learn how to use a computer.

But, now that we have fibre, I have been able to do all my updates for various programmes and I’m getting the laptop workable again.   I have not used that laptop since I started working where I am now which was in April 2011.  So it is at least five years out of date.

As I was working on my laptop last night, I came across some emails hubby and I shared with each other – emails that we written before I started changing my thinking, before I started focusing on gratitude, before I started changing my mindset.

And they were awful.

I actually couldn’t bear reading them again and so I just deleted them.  All of them.  They are filled with so much hurt, and anger and pain.  And we were so lost – as individuals and as a couple.  We didn’t know which way to turn.  We were desperate for someone to guide us to show us the way to go.

Psalm 119:104-105 KJV

Through thy precepts I get understanding: therefore I hate every false way.  Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.

I didn't think we'd make it.

But, I prayed.  And God answered my prayer by showing me that I can’t change my circumstance – I can’t all of a sudden get my  mom to support me and help me the way I needed her to, I can’t change the fact that Baby Girl refused to sleep – no matter what I did, and I can’t change the tension in my marriage (there are too many other factors out of our control), but I can change me.  I can change how I think, what I think about, and the best way for me to do that was to start expressing gratitude.  Because, in order to truly express gratitude, you have to look for those things that you are grateful for.  And when you start looking – all of a sudden you find all these things in your life, so many that you didn’t even know, to be grateful for.

It’s an awesome journey of discovery.

I can only work on me.  There was nothing I could to change anyone or anything around me.  But, you know what?  Working on me was enough – through God’s grace – because things around me did change, and people changed in response to the changes in me.  And I know, I’m still drawn to the allure of toxic thinking, and it is a constant battle to get my head in the right space and to appreciate all that I have around me, but when I think of where we were, and where we are now, I am so glad that God showed me the way to go; that His word was literally a lamp unto my feet – saying, this is the way, go here.  One of the most important lessons I have learnt is that my marriage and my relationship with my husband is of the utmost importance to God.  I could trust God to show me the way to restore my marriage, to heal the hurts, and to focus on loving my husband in way that he could see God’s love for him.  Quite simply because marriage reflects God’s love to the world.  Destroy that and you destroy any credibility of the Christian church to the world.  It has been a tough journey – and there is no arrival, there is no destination.  All I have is a day-by-day walk in renewing my mind until the day I die – only then will I arrive.  Nothing is static – life is too dynamic to think that on any particular day we have arrived.  But, we do get further along the road, it gets easier, you get more grateful, you begin to see and to understand things from a different perspective – and that in and of itself is so worth it.

So, today, I am grateful for:

  1. Knowing the journey that we have been on, how far we have come and how different our marriage looks today than it did then.
  2. God’s intervention in my life – I shudder to think where I would be without His love and His word to guide me through life.
  3. God’s love – His entire motive for anything He does is based on love.  He IS love, and while He may mete out justice once in a while, His sole focus is His love for us.
  4. God’s grace – without His patience, I would fail and fall and never get up.  But, God is forever patient with me as I learn to focus on His word and to live His way – time and time again.  It it were me, I would’ve given up on me a long time ago – I would be like, “Really, you’re eating to pick up weight again?  Didn’t you learn the last time?”  But God is gracious – slow to anger, abounding in love: for which I am so grateful.
  5. For this gorgeous life I get to live – I may not have everything that I want, and we’re always seem to be battling financially, but I have so much love and life and light in my life, I am truly grateful.  I consider myself to be richer than most people who truly have money – through God’s grace and His blessings I truly am quite blessed.

Jonah 4:2 NIV

He prayed to the Lord, “Isn’t this what I said, Lord, when I was still at home?  That is what I tried to forestall by fleeing to Tarshish.  I knew that you are a gracious and compassionate God, slow to anger and abounding in love, a God who relents from sending calamity.  Emphasis mine.

All over the World

By: Roy Turner

All over the world the Spirit is moving
All over the world as the prophet said it would be
All over the world there’s a mighty revelation
Of the glory of the Lord, as the waters cover the sea

All over His church God’s Spirit is moving
All over His church as the prophet said it would be
All over His church there’s a mighty revelation
Of the glory of the Lord, as the waters cover the sea

Right here in this place the Spirit is moving
Right here in this place as the prophet said it would be
Right here in this place there’s a mighty revelation
Of the glory of the Lord, as the waters cover the sea

© 1984 Kingsway’s Thankyou Music

2 thoughts on “Why Gratitude Works!

Leave a Reply

