Speaking the Truth!


There’s his side, her side and then there’s the truth.

I love that quote.  Everyone has a different perception of what is the truth.  It is influenced by our current circumstances, our state of mind, our past, our thoughts, our perceptions, our physical abilities (or lack thereof)…

But there is only ever one absolute truth.  One that is not coloured by our perceptions, our backgrounds, our thoughts, education level – and that is God’s truth.

It’s simple.  I am fearfully and wonderfully made – not because I may or may not meet up to the world’s standards, but because God’s word tells me that.

I am saved because God’s word says that if I believe in heart that Jesus is the Son of God and accept Him into my life, I am saved.  There is no negotiation, no trying to understand how or why – it just is.  I am saved because God sent His son to die in my place.  Try as I might to understand the hows and whys, at the end of the day, I don’t really need to.  I just need to trust and believe. #childlikefaith

And this is the truth.  It doesn’t matter whether you or I believe it or not, this truth extends beyond our thoughts and intellects and beyond time.  Almost like gravity – gravity exists whether we believe it or not.  And yes, the world is round… 😉

Yesterday, I spoke about the power of words – words create our internal worlds and that can either be positive or negative.  And speaking the truth – no matter how difficult, or hard, or painful, or beautiful, or kind, or generous, will help create internal worlds (our thoughts, feelings and actions) that hanker after the truth, after stability, after love and eternal salvation.

But that truth has to be based on something beyond ourselves – or it will be wishy-washy and change as our moods change.  No, we need a truth that is rock solid that no matter where the wind blows, we have the security of always relying on that truth.

We have constantly, day-by-day, EVERY day renew our minds with God’s truth…


And the truth today is that I am amazed at the work God is doing in this old hard heart of mine.  He is gently softening my heart, like kneading dough, and I find myself being more and more amazed with His good work.

And I am grateful for the work that God has done and is doing in my marriage.

And I am grateful that He has entrusted to my care this beautiful little girl who is so feisty and so trusting, so daring and so sheltered, all at the same time.

I am grateful that God loves me so much, I am precious to Him, and that He will never leave me or forsake me.

I have so much to be grateful for.

One thought on “Speaking the Truth!

Leave a Reply

