Gratitude is a Thought!


“Acknowledging the good that you already have in your life is the foundation for all abundance.” Eckhart Tolle

You don’t feel an acknowledgment, you think it.  Our feelings flow from what we fill our  minds with.  If we fill our minds with the negative, our feelings will be negative.

I used to fantasize about all awful things – I couldn’t help myself.  It was like a drug, and  a high that whenever I had an idle moment, my mind would wander off to things that I would never, ever want to happen in real life.  It is a sign of a broken mind, I do realise that.  But, it worried me no end the thoughts that used to run through my mind.  Is it any wonder then that I had full-blown anxiety breakdown after Baby Girl was born.

And that is why – I can’t stress enough – you have to fill your mind with good things, positive things, lovely things…

Philippians 4:8 NIV:  Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Because filling your mind with the true, with nobility, with righteousness, purity, loveliness, admirable, excellence – has a direct impact on your emotional life, your spiritual life, your mental state: no matter what situations in life you’re facing at the moment.  In other words, you can be facing the harshest situation in your life – financial ruin, a death of a loved one, divorce, heartache, but if you have filled your mind with all things good and pure, and built a solid foundation in God’s word, you will have the strength and the stamina (mentally, emotionally, and spiritually) to see you through this situation that you are facing.

With me, I had filled my mind with the negative – for years and years (well, pretty much my entire life) and when I was faced with a major life changing event, I cracked.  I did not have a solid foundation.

This doesn’t mean that you won’t ever feel sad or anxious, or even desperate, but the underlying foundation of how you handle the situations in your life with be strong and based on your life view being positive.

And that is why I have worked so hard to focus on the poster that will help me build a strong foundation, a foundation that will allow me to fully live and appreciate all the abundance that Jesus came to give us.

And from all good thoughts, thoughts based in God’s word and truth, thoughts focused on love, and light, and blessing, on purity and righteousness come a change within you that will lead you to the kind of life you want to live.  It won’t change your circumstances – and you will still be you.  But, you will be a positive, energized and ready to face your life with grace and blessing.


I had a really bad night’s sleep last night – as in I had virtually no sleep at all.  But, I got to hear the stunning rain in the early hours of this morning and just enjoy the relaxing sounds.  And the reason I couldn’t sleep was because I couldn’t relax my legs – and it was from a run I did yesterday.  I really pushed myself hard when I ran yesterday, and I think my legs couldn’t “unwind” (for want of a better word), but the point is: I ran just over 5 km yesterday.  It feels so awesome at the moment to be able to run.  At one stage I could never have imagined myself doing this, but now I am actually running.  And loving it.

Hebrews 12:1-3 NIV:  Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles.  And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.  For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.   Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

And I am grateful that I have a relatively quiet day ahead of me today at work.  Perhaps I should speak too soon… 😉

And I am grateful that whenever I am having a tough day with Baby Girl, hubby was able to step in this morning, and help get Baby Girl ready and to school.  He can’t always help out, but he does help when he can and this morning I was particularly grateful for his assistance.

I have so much to be grateful for.

Leave a Reply

