Wellness Day!


Our company had a Wellness Day here at work and even though I am not on the company medical aid, I got to partake…  I attended the session with the biokenetist.   And firstly, my blood pressure is low.  It always has been low, but I feel it when I am dizzy every time I stand up.  But, I am so so unfit – we had to do steps for about three minutes, push-ups for a minute and tummy crunches for a minute.  And my arms are sore…

I have no strength in my arms at all.  Guess I am going to have to start incorporating more arm exercises and not just running into my fitness regime (besides for the obvious I have to do – Lose.  Some.  Weight.)  But, I know that I can do all things through Christ Jesus who gives me strength, and I know I will lose this weight.

However, what I am grateful for is that in completing the questionnaire, I realised just how healthy I am.  I have no diabetes, no high blood pressure, no cholesterol (that I know of), no history of cancer, or any other illnesses.  I am, actually, quite healthy – thank you God for His grace.

And I am also grateful that I have a husband who has encouraged me and continues to encourage me to get fit.  I would hate to have done this assessment a year or two ago.  I may not have lost weight (yet), but I know that with my running I am at least a little fitter than I was.

And I am grateful for the half hour neck and upper back massage I had upstairs.  My back has been hurting me for a while and the young girl doing the massaging just patiently worked through all those knots in my back.  It was awesome.  And my back feels much better.

I am grateful for this wellness day – it has shown me some areas I need to work on, but also shown me other areas that I can be grateful for: like having already started working on my fitness, losing some weight and actually being quite healthy.

Thank you, Lord.  I have so much to be grateful for.

Psalm 139:14 NIV

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.

Philippians 4:13 NKJV

13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Leave a Reply

