Gratitude and Appreciation Time


One of the simple things in life that we all know we should do is practice gratitude for the things we have in our lives that bring happiness into our lives.  It is easy to look at the struggles and challenges of life and forget to see all of the things that make each day a positive experience.  One of the best practices is to set aside a time of day to look at the past day and decide what it is that you are grateful for.  Jon Hilton

Of course you can choose to stay mired in the negative for whatever reason you want.  Anger, jealousy, and judgment are just different masks of fear.  These have something to do with not having your needs met and some pain coming your way.  The choice is yours, live in fear or live in gratitude.

I am slowly but surely starting to realise that you can’t prevent a bird from flying over your head, but you can prevent it from nesting in your hair.

Negative thoughts will pop into your mind all the time.  However, the choice is up to you as to whether you entertain those thoughts, or kick them out.  And the best way to not entertain those thoughts is to focus your attention onto something positive and uplifting, like showing appreciation for those small things in your life that please you.

My hubby just phoned and a thought popped into my head wondering if I was going to have a panic attack – and the answer?  No, I’m not because he phoned to ask if he could fetch Baby Girl early from school, and instead I am choosing to show him gratitude for his kindness.

A negative thought popped up about our financial distress, and I’m not going to let that bother me because I am choosing to thank God for all of HIs provision and to trust Him for our future.

A negative thought occurred when driving home yesterday in the peak hour traffic and I decided to rather focus on getting home to enjoy some time with my amazing family.

This morning my car ran out of petrol, and a thought of annoyance occurred to me, and instead I decided to appreciate the most glorious sunrise – as my husband said, it looked like the sky was on fire it was so brilliant and so beautiful.

We can make choices – we can choose to love, forgive and appreciate what we have. We can choose to reside in peace.

I am choosing, each and every day, to live my life in gratitude, because I have so much to be grateful for. 🙂

Leave a Reply

