For who He is, not for what He does!


A little while ago, The Forgiven Wife ran a post about loving your husband, not for what he does for you, but quite simply for who he is.  And I do understand her point – we view love for what we get from the object of our affection:

  • I love him because he makes me feel good;
  • I love him because he makes the best supper;
  • I love him because he helps me with Baby Girl…

But, how often do we love for who they are, not for what they do?  That’s now quite a different idea altogether.

  • I love him for his quiet sense of humour;
  • I love him for his inner strength;
  • I love him for his diplomatic style;
  • I love him for who he is.

The second list is so much harder to put together than the first.

But, I have also been asking myself – how do I worship God for who He is, as opposed to what He has done for me.  But, in order to do this, I need to know who God is.  Yes, I am grateful – very grateful – that God has saved me, that He sent His son to die for me, that He is moulding me every day.  But that all kinda revolves around me and my salvation and my growth – me, me, me.  What I have received out the whole deal – and yes, they are things that we should most definitely worship God for.  Our salvation should lead us to a joy that knows no bounds in our praise of God.

But, shouldn’t we be moving beyond that?

Worshipping God for saving us, yes!

But, also worshipping God because well, He is God and deserves no less.

But, how do I, this feeble little soul here on earth accomplish that?  I mean, if you think about it, Christ has graced us with salvation so that we can commune with God.  This God who created the heavens and the earth in six days, who told the seas and the winds to be still and they listened, who went to the world of the dead and rose again on the third day.  This is some mighty powerful stuff.

And I think we tend to bring God down to our level – to make it easier for us to get to know Him and worship Him the way we understand or can grasp.  We argue against why things are done a certain way, when we want our own way.  But, I think we tend to lose sight that this isn’t a mere president of a country, this is a God who has such high standards of holiness that nothing we could do, no sacrifice we could make, was enough.  He had to send His only son to die so that the great divide that sin caused could be crossed.

This is the living God.

He deserves our praise and worship purely because He is.

I have no idea exactly on the logistics of how to do that…

How do I offer up praises worthy enough when I am born into a world steeped in sin?  When I am steeped in sin?  It is humbling and terrifying to know that this living God can act on the praises of His people, that His communing with us is through our praise and worship of Him.  I can’t fathom or understand why my praise would be so important to Him – I mean, its not like I am important, or that I have money, or that I have accomplished anything…  But, then, I think that is exactly the point.  It is because I am in such desperate need of Him saving my soul, and guiding me through this life, that I can – through Jesus – come and worship Him.

It is a humbling thought indeed.  I don’t feel qualified to worship God.  In fact, I feel quite, uh, UN-qualified, not at the right level, not enough…

And yet, it is exactly this that God asks of us.

To worship Him, not because of our achievements, but because of who He is and what He has done for us.

  1. I am grateful for that fact that God is growing my mind each and every day.  He is bringing me to new depths of understanding – this is the God who said, “Let there be”… and there was… and He is renewing my mind.  Wow!
  2. I am grateful that God saved me; that He reached down through the Heavens, through time and space, to introduce Himself to me that night when I was thirteen.  He saw me – that alone tells me of His greatness and power when no-one else in this world saw me.  Or cared… and He cared.  Enough to the see the pain I was in and come to me.
  3. I am grateful that He will complete this good work He began in me until the day of Christ Jesus.
  4. I am grateful that God is love – He does not just act loving to us, He IS love.  Think about that –  I may be loving and kind to my husband and family, but that doesn’t make me love.  God IS love.  It is His very nature.  And because He is love, I can trust Him.  With my past, my present and my future.  God is, was and always will be love.
  5. I am grateful that I can trust Him.  I can be still and just simply know He is God.  I can trust that whatever issues I am battling with, that as I learn to let go and these over to Him, He will teach me new ways to think and He will renew my mind.  It isn’t an easy process, in fact, it is quite difficult, but even in that difficulty – I can trust Him.

2 thoughts on “For who He is, not for what He does!

Leave a Reply

