A Winter’s Cuddle


There is something about winter that I truly love.  It’s too hot for it in Summer, but in Winter – well the freezing cold temperatures are definitely condusive to this:  C-U-D-D-L-I-N-G!

In fact, I don’t even use a winter duvet on our bed in winter.  I tried it once, but than there was no cuddling needed, so I took it off.  I just use a normal summer duvet.  And the result: lots of cuddling to keep warm in winter.  And I love it.  And I am grateful for the fact that hubby and I sleep so well together.  He doesn’t snore (yet…:-) ), doesn’t hog the blankets (often), and generally in winter we sleep cuddled and well together.

But, it also means cuddles with my little girl.  She loves a good cuddle and I am so grateful for the opportunity of being her mom.  I love to wake her in the morning for school, and she is warm and still half asleep, and she crawls into my lap, and cuddles me before getting ready for the day.  I am well aware that this won’t last much longer, and I am so grateful for the opportunity I have had to be a mother.  But, specificall her mother… she is such a wonderful daughter to have.

I am grateful that God has blessed me with an awsome marriage.  Oh, we have been through some really tough seasons, and some really great ones, and some really, well, uh, ordinary ones.  But, through it all God has blessed us with each other, a great relationship and a wonderful marriage.

I am grateful for my work.  I enjoy my job and I enjoy the people that I work with.  Don’t we all wish the pay could be more?  LOL – but besides for that, I am grateful for my job.  It covers the school fees and our groceries, for which I am very, very grateful (it is apparently a good thing to eat… and to be educated… :-).

And I am grateful for a hot shower every morning.  Come summer or winter, I honestly believe that a shower was one of man’s greatest inventions.  There is nothing more gratifiying than feeling the spray of warm water on your body – and especially with the cold winter weather, it is even more enticing and gratifying.

One thought on “A Winter’s Cuddle

Leave a Reply

