A run, a dance, a wink and a swim…


The very first time I took Baby Girl to swimming lessons she was seven months old, and she screamed so much I could swear that the other people in the class were thinking I was trying to drown her.  She screamed, and screamed, and screamed, and screamed…

Now, six years later, she is a rock start swimmer.  She has been moved up to a more advanced class, because she is doing so well.

And as for her dancing – well, she is enjoying it again and really looking forward to her concert.  My point?  The idea of teaching her tenacity, the “never give-up-ness” that is so all important in life.  And me?  Well, as I am trying to teach her that – I am trying to teach myself at the same time.  I have this attitude of well, stuff that, I don’t need it, just walk away.  And I can’t do that.  I have come so far in my running, changing my thinking (renewing my mind), focusing on God’s peace, etc, that I have to hold onto tenacity and just quite simply never give up.

“Let us not become wearing in doing good, for at the proper time, we will reap the harvest,” Galatians 6 verse 9.

So, while Baby Girl is dancing and swimming her way through school, and I am learning how to run, and hubby cycles like a mean machine, we are family that is trying to focus on fitness and health, when for me, having a McDonald’s burger is just so much easier… 😉

Today, I am grateful for:

  1. God’s provision.  Things are so tight financially, and I have absolutely no money left to payday and my credit card is maxed to the hilt.  And yet, I know that God will provide.  I know this because His word has told me so.  He is Jehovah Jireh – the God who provides.
  2. A good night’s sleep.  My poor hubby isn’t sleeping at all at the moment – there is a lot of pressure in him to get things done, and he is virtually running his business by himself, and he tries to get Baby Girl sorted with dancing and swimming.  And he knows that we need more to be done for him to adequately provide for our family.  I just wish he could get a good night’s sleep – he will handle our financial and his work pressures so much better.  I, on the other hand, sleep too well.  For which I am grateful – my escape for any stress is to sleep and I think this is a better option than not sleeping at all.
  3. Delicious lamb.  Did I tell you that I actually cooked a meal on Sunday?  And that it was actually (note the surprise) quite delicious?  Well, my mom is coming around tonight, so we’re having leftover lamb for dinner.  Yummy.  I am grateful though that through God’s provision we eat well, and we have food for every meal (breakfast, lunch and dinner).
  4. Coping.  Baby Girl is coping so much better at school this term.  Last term on a Monday she had swimming and dancing, but by the Tuesday, she was tired and grumpy and out of control.  Now, this term, her swimming has moved to a Wednesday and this is better all round.  Not only is she not so tired anymore, but also to have swimming on a Wednesday during winter, means her hair gets dry before the cool winter air hits in the evening.  It will be so much better for her.  I am grateful that through a little prayer, God found a better alternative.
  5. Love.  I am amazed and overwhelmed at the amount of love in our family and in my life.  As Dr Caroline Leaf keeps on saying – we are wired for love.  And time and time again God has shown His love for me; through various circumstances, thought processes and learning and growing in His word, I am constantly reminded that no matter what happens in my life or what I perceive or think or feel, God loves me.  My whole world can come crashing down around me, I can rebel against God, against life, I can do drugs, commit murder – whatever – and God will still love me.  Oh, His justice will be swift, and He is a God who demands perfection, and I am quite sure there is punishment – in both this life and the next – but none of that changes the fact that He loves me.  And if I allow Him to, He will work in my heart and my mind to redeem me for His perfect will.  How awesome is that?

I have so much to be grateful for.

5 thoughts on “A run, a dance, a wink and a swim…

Leave a Reply

