Gratitude – 13th April 2016


I love my husband.  I love my daughter.  I love my God.  Not necessarily in that order, but I love them.  I feel so honoured and privileged to have these people in my life that I do have, and that God has and is still using my marriage and my relationship with my husband to heal me from some deep childhood wounds.  Wounds I have recently discovered that are still festering beneath the surface.

“In ordinary life we hardly realize that we receive a great deal more than we give, and that it is only with gratitude that life becomes rich.”  ― Dietrich Bonhoeffer

I know that in this life I have definitely been given more than I give.  I have been blessed with love and kindness and generosity and salvation by a God who sees all, knows all and knows me and truly sees me for who I am.  I have been blessed with a loving and kind husband when I have not always myself been loving or kind to him.  I have been blessed with an amazing daughter when I myself have often failed in being a good mother and nurturer to her.  I have been blessed with a good job that many days I grumble and complain about.  I have been blessed with good health when many days I feel anxious or tired or grumpy.  I have been blessed with sight to see God’s beautiful creation and many days I just sit and watch TV.  I have been blessed with time, and many times I fail in using this productively and to God’s glory.

It is true – I have been blessed far beyond what I am worthy of.  But, I want to be worthy – I want to start to give more than what I receive.  I want to be aware of all my blessings and be filled with gratitude, because this is the will of God for me in Christ Jesus.

  1. I am grateful for this life I get to live – I am grateful that God sees me and He loves me and He knows me.  Right now, right where I am this very minute.
  2. I am grateful for my husband – he is so good to me, so kind and generous.  I feel honoured that he chose me to be his wife.
  3. I am grateful for growth – that God hasn’t just left me as a little hurting child, but provided my with His healing and His grace.
  4. I am grateful for my family – this family that God has given me and that He is using to heal the hurts of my own childhood.
  5. I am grateful for God’s salvation.  That Jesus is alive and real and coming back for us – that He has gone to prepare a place for us, that He lives in my heart and because He lives, so do I.

I have so much to be grateful for.

One thought on “Gratitude – 13th April 2016

Leave a Reply

