Gratitude – 07th April 2016


It is a difficult task indeed to start to think about what you are most grateful for.  Many people will say money.  Some will say love.  Some will say family.  Some will say something else entirely.

I am thankful for all these things, but to me there is no doubt that showing your gratitude is the most important thing to do.  The feeling of gratitude is important.  So for me I guess the act of feeling grateful is the thing I am most grateful for today.  by Jonathan Hilton

Sometimes, I just don’t “feel” like being grateful – for anything.  I wake up tired, grumpy, I’m having a bad day, I’m hungry, thirsty, missing my husband, whatever…  but to feel grateful in all that?  Now, that’s hard.  Not impossible – just hard.

But as Jonathan goes on to say in the rest of his post, we can choose…

As much as there is a “high” from being grumpy and angry, an enticement towards the negative, I can still choose to focus on the positive, to find something to be grateful for.  And boy, when things aren’t going your way – for whatever reason – it really is hard.  I am in that place today.  I have no money left for the rest of this month, as in nada, the school is closing for an extra two days which means I have to take extra leave from work that I don’t have because I don’t have anyone to look after Baby Girl, and our backdoor broke – in fact, in this country, I had to sleep with the door unlocked (not such a good idea).  And Baby Girl had a complete meltdown last night for about two hours…  And with hubby being in Cape Town, I had to deal with that on my own.

So, today, I need to look – really look – for that feeling of gratitude, not for things in and of themselves, but for knowing that no matter what I am going through or how I am feeling, I am humbled and honoured to live with all the good things in my life that I do have.

I really need to start looking at the right poster

So, here we go:

  1. Today, I am grateful for God’s gift of marriage.  Life is hard, it is even harder to do on your own – it can get lonely, frustrating, difficult, but that God has blessed me with a partner to share my burdens with, is quite humbling.  Thank you, Lord, that I am married – and married to a wonderful man.
  2. I am grateful that at any point during my day, I can stop, choose to listen to God and following Him.  Be still and know that I am God.  Psalm 46:10.  I can do that – perhaps I need to do that more often?
  3. I am grateful that even though money is so tight, and we are battling financially, God has always somehow provided for us.  We seem to scrape through each month, but we do scrape through…  But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:19
  4. I am grateful that my husband is coming home today.  It is so much easier with him around… 🙂
  5. I am grateful that I have a good job.  I did not want this job.  I did not want to come into the corporate environment – I was quite content with hiding myself away.  I did not want to be put into the limelight where my work and performance would be managed and measured, and probably found wanting…  But, you know what?  I am enjoying my job, and it is – for now – secure.  And I enjoy the people I work with.  So, thank you, Lord, and I am very grateful to have this job.

I have so much to be grateful for.

One thought on “Gratitude – 07th April 2016

Leave a Reply

