Gratitude – 14th March 2016


Do you know that winter is coming?  The days are warm and sunny, but there is a shift.  A subtle shift, but one that is there…  Winter is on the way.  And we have had such an awesome summer that I’m not quite sure if I’m looking forward to, or apprehensive about this change.  And yet, change is all around us all the time.  We think we’re in a routine, we think things stay the same, but there is a shift, a movement that constantly happens – even when we can’t see it.

I am really enjoying Jonathan Hilton‘s musings about gratitude.  Although I have been keeping a gratitude journal for sometime now, he is opening up my eyes to new aspects of gratitude I had not considered before.

My voice, for whatever reason could not speak these thoughts or express the feelings they evoked, for many years this was the game, until one day, I found that I had another voice.  This voice was not an uttered word, but a written one.  Jonathan Hilton

I, too, am very grateful for the written word.  I can express what I am thinking and needing to say much more easily when writing, than when speaking.  If I have to speak to hubby about something important, I get so tongue-twisted, and start talking over myself, and then forget half of what I want to say – no, it’s just much easier to write these things down.

We all need to express who we are – and while some are excellent orators, other – such as myself – are better adept to the written word.

This is what I am grateful for today:
  1. I am grateful for the gift of being able to read and write.  There are many people across our world who cannot even write their name, not to mention reading a book or expressing a thought in the written word.  I have these gifts and I am forever grateful for that.  What would my life be like if I couldn’t read or write?  I shudder to imagine…
  2. We had such an awesome day on Saturday.  Hubby’s brother came through to Storm’s River for the weekend, and we popped over to say hello to him and his Swedish fiance.  It was a lovely drive and a good day had by all of us.
  3. And on Saturday I did my first official trail run.  Oh, boy, I had no idea how intense and hectic it was.  My legs burned and I was exhausted afterwards.  But, it was good and I enjoyed it.
  4. Yesterday, I ran 8.3 km with a friend – also very intense, but I ran the whole way and I enjoyed it.  Okay, after doing two runs on the weekend, I was finished last night, but I am sort of proud of myself for being able to do it in the first place.  Okay, look – there is no concerns of me ever winning first place.  Ever – I run so slowly, I am sure tortoises could overtake me if they put their minds to it, but for me this is such an amazing achievement.  When, just a year ago I couldn’t run at all, or even walk around the park, I am now heading for my second 10 km race this weekend.  Wow – all thanks to my God and to my husband: both of whom have encouraged me and have gotten me thus far.  I love both of them – first my God, then my husband.  And I am grateful for their input in my life each and every day (even when I am not aware of it).
  5. For faith – I am doing this 21 Day Brain Detox by Dr Caroline Leaf and basically what you do is break down the negative thought, and rebuild a positive thought in its place – its a parallel process, but its not an easy process.  Each thought as so many different aspects to it that breaking it down isn’t as easy as it seems – until this morning I had another thought:

Matthew 17:18-21 New International Version (NIV)

Jesus rebuked the demon, and it came out of the boy, and he was healed at that moment.  Then the disciples came to Jesus in private and asked, “Why couldn’t we drive it out?”  He replied, “Because you have so little faith.  Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move.  Nothing will be impossible for you.”

And that’s when I realised the true essence of changing your thinking – while breaking down one toxic thought and rebuilding a healthy thought is certainly the way to renew your mind, you not going to get anywhere if you don’t have faith.  And its faith as small as a mustard seed – its believing, knowing and trusting God completely and having faith in Him that through Him you can move mountains.  I know that God is on my side, and I love Him and am grateful to Him for this revelation.

I have so much to be grateful for.

Leave a Reply

