Gratitude – 08th March 2016


The Reward of Gratitude is a wonderful article I came across this morning.  And it so clearly articulates my reason for starting a daily gratitude journal.  Whilst thinking about all the things you’re grateful is a wonderful start, actually writing them down solidifies that thought in your mind.

And I have found tremendous changes in my thinking and attitude – some small, some major, but most of all I look forward to coming to work to think about all the things I am grateful for.  And it is the little things – like having a good cup of coffee, but that changes your mindset enough that when the big things come along, you know how to be grateful for them.

It does not take a brain surgeon to figure out what to do differently.  I was inconsistent so I needed to be more consistent.  To build that consistency and to make the topics of my gratitude consistent I had to take a moment each day to write it down.

I always try to have my notebook with me, so when I have a moment each morning I jot down my list of things I am grateful for.  I would suggest this for everyone for this reason.  Even though it seems a simple thing, there  is a moment of contemplation that happens when you actually write it down.  The thought has to travel from your mind through your arm to your hand and onto the paper.  My lists are not all that elaborate, because I am pretty grateful for the little things in life.

I am grateful for good cups of coffee, good conversation, something interesting I read on a blog, a book I read, having money in the bank, a text from a friend that made my day, or a long verbose Facebook message which was awesome to read.  The list gets a bit long, but I have tried to keep it to what comes to mind.  I can always look back to see what I wrote before.  Reference here.

And I do believe that consistency is key.

The worst thing that will happen is you will feel better about life.  The best thing that will happen is that you will open yourself up to more of the same kind of experiences.  It doesn’t really matter if you believe what I am telling you or not.  Just contemplate what will happen if you do nothing different?  Nothing different will happen.  If you are lonely,sick, poor, or just generally unhappy, what the heck do you have to lose  Give it an honest attempt and see what it does in your life.

I am and have been giving it an honest attempt – and I tell you what: finding things to be grateful for is a lot better than wallowing in self pity and negative thinking.

Today, I am grateful for:

  1. This gorgeous rain.  It has been raining since yesterday, and it is lovely and cooled the weather down a bit and the world feels clean and new and refreshed.
  2. For spending a bit of quality time with hubby and Baby Girl this morning.  We all got up early and had a breakfast together, and it was lovely – and then promptly rain late for getting to work and school on time.  But it was worth it.
  3. For the delicious cup of coffee at work – especially on a rainy day, it was lovely.
  4. For my gorgeous husband – for so many things that he does for me every day.
  5. For the delicious lunch I have – hubby made a pasta with bacon and mushrooms last night.  Yummy!  I have the left over for lunch today.  Double yummy!

I have much to be grateful for.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude – 08th March 2016

Leave a Reply

