Gratitude – 18th February 2016


What an awesome storm we had this morning.  Fortunately, I had just arrived at work, when the heavens opened and the rain came pouring down, and the thunder was so loud, I almost jumped off my chair – I got such a fright.

Storms are so beautiful.

Frightening, but beautiful.

I am so grateful that God is the God of the storms, and that He can tell the waters to calm themselves.

Mark 4:35-41 The Message (MSG)

The Wind Ran Out of Breath

35-38 Late that day he said to them, “Let’s go across to the other side.”  They took him in the boat as he was.  Other boats came along.  A huge storm came up.  Waves poured into the boat, threatening to sink it.  And Jesus was in the stern, head on a pillow, sleeping!  They roused him, saying, “Teacher, is it nothing to you that we’re going down?”

39-40 Awake now, he told the wind to pipe down and said to the sea, “Quiet!  Settle down!”  The wind ran out of breath; the sea became smooth as glass.  Jesus reprimanded the disciples: “Why are you such cowards?  Don’t you have any faith at all?”

41 They were in absolute awe, staggered. “Who is this, anyway?” they asked.  “Wind and sea at his beck and call!”

The first thing that stood out to me in this passage is that Jesus was sleeping.  On a boat.  In a storm.  Do you know the level of trust you must have in God to sleep through a storm on a boat?  That is the example we must follow when a crisis hits.  We need to have such a high level of trust in God that we could be sleeping through a storm – on a boat.

And that is what God is teaching me.

I have never had a trust in God – my trust was broken as a child who grew up in a dysfunctional family, with parents who eventually divorced.  God is teaching me that I can trust Him no matter what.  And I can trust the man that God has put into my life.  And I can trust that all things will work out.

Romans 8:28 King James Version (KJV)

28 And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

Today, I am grateful:

  1. For this beautiful storm we had this morning – the rain and the thunder, and the beauty of the dark clouds.  It was really stunning.  (And the fact that I just made into my office on time and missed the downpour – frizzy hair in this humidity ain’t pretty…)
  2. For Baby Girl who made it to school on time as well, and also missed the storm.
  3. For hubby who with his flexible working hours managed to stay at home with our dog who woke us up at 02:00 this morning, digging on the spare room bed because she was so afraid.  At least with hubby at home, she will feel safe.
  4. That I feel safe with my husband.  I love feeling for him at night, just knowing that he is there.
  5. For God’s grace – this God who sees me and loves me, and extends His grace to me day-by-day, moment-by-moment.

I have so much to be grateful for.

Leave a Reply

