Gratitude – 16th February 2016


We are battling a bit with Baby Girl at the moment.  She does Modern Dancing and last year she loved it.  This year, she is hates it.  It has moved to a new venue, because the classrooms at school are too small.  And chatting to her, it seems she is scared to do the concert.  The problem is that this puts us in a bit of a predicament.  If we allow her to quit, she will probably regret it and it will allow her to cave into her fears and insecurities.  If we push her to do it, she could feel like she is being forced to do something that she isn’t ready for.  But, she has done concerts before and she does really well.

I know a thing or two about fear – if you allow it to take control, it can take up to 40 plus years to get out of its grasp.

This is not the life I want for her.

I want her to life her live in abundance – with grace and enjoyment of every good blessing God has put in her life.  How do I teach her that?  I have no idea – I have a sneaky suspicion that as frustrating as this may be for me, it is something she needs to learn herself.

Now, I have to email the teacher to map a way forward.

Today, I am grateful:
  1. That I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that this same God who began a good work in me and that will complete that good work until the day of Christ Jesus will do the same for Baby Girl.

There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears.  Philippians 1:6 The Message

2.  That I can trust God with her life and with her future.  He loves her infinitely more than what I could ever hope to – He sees into her heart and her mind, and He knows her.

3.  That my husband and I worked as a team and discussed the issue in a way to understand what is going on without getting tense with each other.

4.  That Baby Girl has her whole life ahead of her – it is such an exciting journey for her and I hope to help her see it as one great big adventure.

5.  That Baby Girl has so much potential – she is truly wonderfully and fearfully made.

Psalm 139:14-16 The Message (MSG)

13-16 Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out;
    you formed me in my mother’s womb.
I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking!
    Body and soul, I am marvelously made!
    I worship in adoration—what a creation!
You know me inside and out,
    you know every bone in my body;
You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit,
    how I was sculpted from nothing into something.
Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth;
    all the stages of my life were spread out before you,
The days of my life all prepared
    before I’d even lived one day.

I have much to be grateful for.

One thought on “Gratitude – 16th February 2016

Leave a Reply

