Gratitude – 03rd February 2016


Do you know and understand – truly understand – the sacrifice God gave you in offering up His son?  So that you can go to Heaven?  It’s like sending your child away to be killed because they have a kidney that can save another child’s life.  Dramatic?  Perhaps – but that is exactly what God did.  Not just for one person – but for the entire world, through time, through the ages, through countries and cultures.  He sent His son to die for us, so that we may live.  And in that dying, and our accepting of His life – He refines us, grows us, forgives us, blesses us and prepares us for Heaven.

John 3:16 New International Version (NIV)

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Last night, I sinned.

I mean, we sin all the time, but this was a conscious decision – an active rebellion against what God was telling me to do.  You see, early in the evening hubby and I had a bit of squabble about sex and intimacy.  It bordered in getting really ugly, before sense prevailed and we calmly spoke through the issue.  It is so hot here in Port Elizabeth that neither hubby or I could sleep.  And I woke up and saw that hubby wasn’t sleeping, he was watching TV.  And I had this distinct thought of getting up to make love to my husband.  I felt like God was telling me to go make love to my husband – to work out that act of marriage He has given to the two of us.

And I ignored it.

I wanted to rather focus on getting back to sleep.

But, not only could it have helped by relaxing both of us enough to actually get some sleep, it would of united us intimately after our argument.

And when I got up this morning, I knew that it wasn’t just a thought in my head – I had disobeyed God.  God wants what is best for our marriages, He desires to see us close, loving and building strong bonds between spouses.

And so, today, I am grateful for:

  • God’s forgiveness – that when I sin consciously or in ignorance, God is always ready to forgive and cleanse and to make whole.
  • Second chances – I messed up last night.  But, tonight, I get to have another chance.  I get to try again, and again, until I get it right.
  • God being on my side – He wants me to succeed at this adventure called marriage and life; He delights in strong, healthy marriages (no matter how challenging those marriages may be).
  • God refining me – He wants me holy and part of that holiness is teaching me to love my husband well.
  • Recognising God’s voice – even though I disobeyed, and I feel awful about it this morning, I still knew it was God talking to me last night (or the early hours of this morning).

John 10:27 New King James Version (NKJV)

27 My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.

P.S.  And then I get this Joyce Meyer’s reading today – I think God is definitely trying to tell me something:

Let God Strengthen You 

by Joyce Meyer – posted February 03, 2016

My life dissolves and weeps itself away for heaviness; raise me up and strengthen me according to [the promises of] Your word.  Remove from me the way of falsehood and unfaithfulness [to You], and graciously impart Your law to me. —Psalm 119:28-29

We need to be strengthened and renewed on a daily basis.  We need to be strengthened physically, mentally, and emotionally.  We need to be strong so we do not fall apart every time we have to face some situation we had not planned on.

Jesus is the same yesterday, today, and forever, and He expects us to develop stability in our lives.  We can be strengthened and renewed by drawing strength from God, by exercising our faith, and by doing what He tells us to do.

From the book Starting Your Day Right by Joyce Meyer.  Copyright © 2003 by Joyce Meyer.  Published by FaithWords.  All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

