Gratitude – 21st January 2016


My husband is in Cape Town on business – he left yesterday and will be back tomorrow.  That man has worked so hard since his retrenchment to try keep us afloat financially.  And in a climate where businesses cannot employ white males, or even contract to businesses that are NOT BEE (Black Economic Empowerment) compliant, he has had a really rough time trying to make ends meet.  I am very proud of all that he has done.

Today, I am grateful for:

  1. My wonderful husband who not only makes time for me, and for Baby Girl, but who is working incredibly hard to save us financially in the future and to provide for us now, and still makes time to work on his fitness.
  2. My wonderful daughter.  She is quite simply amazing.  She is so unlike me in so many ways – where I was inside reading, she is outside playing.  Where I was fearful and anxious, she is brave and courageous and strong.  Where I hide myself away, she is confident.  Where people scare me, she loves to be around people.  Where I slept my life away, she hates sleeping and doesn’t want to miss out on anything.  I admire her strength and her courage, and she has taught me so much about who I could be – if I just had the courage.
  3. My job.  When I think we live in a climate where white people are virtually unemployable, I feel very grateful to not only have a good job, but to have a job that I enjoy.  There are many qualified people – some who are professionals – that cannot find employment at present.
  4. My mother.  Yes, I am even grateful for my mother.  She has given me tons of clothes over the last couple of years, for which I am very, very grateful.  If she did not give me these clothes, I have no idea what I would wear to work.  There is no money to buy clothes, and so I am grateful that I have these beautiful clothes to wear – even if they are secondhand or hand-me-downs.  And my mother has really good taste in clothes.
  5. My father.  Yes, he has been distant most of his life as he focused on work.  And I don’t think he really knew what to do with these little kids running around the house when we were growing up.  In fact, I don’t think he really knew we were there – just a few little humans that he had to clothe and feed.  But, as he has hit retirement, I have seen him interact with Baby Girl in a way that he never did with us (my brothers and I) as children.  And I love it.  I am so grateful that Baby Girl has gotten to see him in a way that gives her the opportunity to love him and know him in a way that I never did.  So, I am grateful that he is on retirement.  And I am grateful that he has settled into himself that he can enjoy his children and grandchildren.

I have much to be grateful for.

Leave a Reply

