Gratitude – 20th January 2016


I can’t believe how quickly this year is going.  I would love to have a super-hero power to stop time, just a little bit, so we can savour the moments, enjoy the sunshine, a moment of deep belly laughing.  But time does not stand still.  I think my biggest regret is living the vast amount of my life with my head in books, or watching TV and not getting out there to experience and enjoy life.  I was always too scared I’d make a fool of myself, and reading and watching TV the whole time were safe alternatives.

Today, I am grateful for:

  1. That God has given me a man that brings me out of myself.  My  husband is active, and likes to meet new people, and is interested in many things and likes to be out and about doing things – this forces me (sometimes with much kicking and screaming) to get out of my comfort zone and move more into his.  God really knew what He was doing when He gave me my husband.  And it still scares me to move out of my comfort zone, but I have never yet – not once – ever regretted it.
  2. This book that I am reading by Dr Caroline Leaf called Switch on your Brain.  It has really helped me to understand what years of negative thinking and self-destructive fantasy has done to me, and why it is so hard to move past these thoughts.  I am hopeful, if not a little apprehensive, that this 21 day detox programme she has produced will help me move forward once and for all.
  3. God being in my life.  I shudder to think where I would be if it wasn’t for God, and for His word guiding me each and every day.  Left to my own devices may not be such a pretty thing… 🙂
  4. Baby Girl – that child is such a light in my life.  Last night she had a complete meltdown.  She was tired, being back at school has proven quite exhausting, and she wasn’t listening.  She hopped over the wall, and went to visit our neighbour, but didn’t tell us where she was going.  So, after disciplining her, and making her apologise for making us worry, she comes to us crying – she also needs a sorry.  And after explaining about six or seven times that she doesn’t get a sorry because mommy and daddy did nothing wrong in making sure she is safe, she eventually comes up with, “well, if I can’t get a sorry, can I at least get a hug and a kiss?”  And I’m like – Of course, you can.  And then all was well again.
  5. My teaching.  God is constantly refining me and making me a better person.  Even though I still battle with negativity, I think I am a far nicer (perhaps more relaxed?) person now than I was when I was a teenager.  And I am grateful that God will continue that good work He began in me until the day Jesus comes again.

Philippians 1:6 New Living Translation (NLT)

And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.

Leave a Reply

