Day Twenty: Weight Loss God’s Way


Day Twenty: Weight Loss God’s Way

This is what the Sovereign LORD, the Holy One of Israel, says: “In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength, but you would have none of it.”  Isaiah 30:15

Workout of the Day (WOD)

There’s something really important that I need to share with you!  Never underestimate the power of rest.  I hope you haven’t gotten this far in the journey only to think YOU are getting stronger, YOU are growing wiser, and in YOU, now you trust.  Wow, that would just break my heart.

Rest means trust.  If I am truly trusting in God, I can rest – I don’t have to try so hard to achieve, I can take a step back and say, “Okay God, you take control”.  Being busy in and of itself is not a bad thing – but when that prevents us from truly relaxing and resting, and not trusting God, then its not good.

When doing something so participatory with God, like getting physically in shape, we run the risk of giving ourselves WAY too much credit.  We think WE are the cornerstone when really we need to be sent to our rooms.  WE need a time out.  This is why getting in the habit of resting is essential to living a life in balance.

I know that my getting fit and in shape has nothing to do with me.  I can truly give God all the glory here.  You see – if you follow my blog, I have huge anxiety issues regarding losing weight.  And if I follow my instincts, I would just allow myself to become fat and totally out of shape.  I wouldn’t be happy or at peace, but that is what I would allow myself to become – because of past hurts and issues that stem deep into my childhood.   Yet, I also know that God wants more for me.  He does not want be to be bound to anything that will hold me captive – especially negative thinking or anything that will hold be in bondage.  You see, for me, finding freedom from having to eat everything in sight and freedom to exercise and be healthy, is only God’s grace working through me.  My natural inclination is totally to lean in the other direction.  And in order to do that – I need to surrender, relax and rest in God.  And that isn’t always so easy.  I have to trust – and that means finding peace in God and knowing that He knows what is best.

Resting is not going to come easy for most of us.  The world we live in now does not make it easy to rest.  I remember when I was a kid in the 70’s and some stores were actually still closed on Sundays.  You were fresh out of luck if you forgot the cranberry sauce on Thanksgiving or Christmas.  And yet somehow we survived.

I told you training with me was going to be counter-cultural.  Rest is counter-cultural.

Don’t ever forget God fights your battles!  He gives you grace, which is his strength, to armor up and stand with Him and for Him as he delivers you so you will never have to see your enemies again.

Let’s not be like the fools who don’t lose God’s peace and power in their lives because they refuse to enter into His rest.

TRAIN: As we direct our lives into the way of rest, so too we direct our bodies into the ways of rest.  I would like you to perform the following resting exercise.  It’s called legs up the wall.

  • Put on some relaxing music.  I encourage you to use music without words.
  • Find some wall space.
  • Place a mat, towel, or something soft on the floor next to the wall.
  • Sitting down with your bottom on the floor and knees bent, scoot right shoulder and hip close to the wall.
  • Turn your body to face the wall and let the legs walk up the wall.  Lay your upper body down, arms out, palms open.
  • Breathe in and out with counted breaths: inhale for 5 counts, hold the breath for 5 counts, exhale for 10 counts. REPEAT 5x.
  • Then lie in that posture and REST for 3-10 minutes.
  • Ask God’s presence to come and REST on you.

TIME:10-20 minutes

PRAY: God, I want to rest in you.  Teach me how to do less so I can be yours more and more.  I realize I only need to be with you in order to have all that I need.  Teach me the joy of rest. – Amen

The post Day Twenty: Weight Loss God’s Way appeared first on Revelation Wellness | Fitness Plans | Weight Loss Plans | Christian Fitness | Fitness Certification.

Leave a Reply

