Day Two: Weight Loss God’s Way


Day Two: Weight Loss God’s Way

Workout of the Day: (WOD)

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God–this is your true and proper worship.”  Romans 12:1

When I go to the gym, I see worshipers.  When you understand the word worship, you will see it too.  Worship is not some high holy word.  Everybody worships.

The word worship, as used in the Greek language, means “to be devoted to or spend oneself on.”  Webster’s online dictionary defines worship as “…a derivative of the old English word ‘worthsip’ meaning, ‘an attitude or action that gives worth or value to something.’”

Everybody is spending themselves on something.  Pouring themselves over; working hard at; spending their time, talent, and energy on something at all times.  We were all created to worship.  It’s God’s way of saying, “I made you for myself.”

What do I spend my time on?  Hiding myself away – feeling fearful that someone will somehow catch me out; even when I was skinny – I was always embarrassed about who I was, and hiding from life is (was) just so much easier.  It’s one of the reasons why I always had my nose in a book – there, I could escape.  One of the things that God is teaching me – not just through this series, but in dealing with anxiety – is that I cannot hide myself away from life anymore.  I need to get out there and embrace life, and embrace all the blessings that God has in store for me.  But, I’m not going to get it hiding my nose in book to scared or too embarrassed about who I am.  How do I know this? Because God has told me:

Psalm 139:14 NIV

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

Not only has God made me wonderfully – but that also means that I have nothing to be embarrassed about or ashamed about or to feel shy and hide myself away.

John 10:10 NIV

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

I believe there is nothing more whole and all-encompassing of one person’s total self, than when they engage in something physical.  Your mind has to continually tell your body how to move, while your heart keeps giving you the fuel, physically (blood & oxygen) and spiritually (soul motivation), to keep moving.  Activity and motion that occurs on the surface is the perfect time to train your deepest beliefs and motivations for life!  I pray you won’t look at working out the same ever again.  We hope to “marvellously ruin” you when it comes to working out.  It’s time to let the unrelenting power and force of God’s love train you up.

Log onto Alisa’s blog to watch the work out videos – I can’t access videos at work, and with the load shedding we’re experiencing now, its highly unlikely I’ll be able to watch at home.  However, what I am doing is walking during my lunch breaks as regularly was what my work schedule allows – it’s a walk around St George’s Park, which is just short of 3 km (about 2.91 km).  It takes me just on 30 minutes to do.

INTENSITY: Be intentional and learn how your body works.

PRAY: Jesus, I confess that I have made this quest for the perfect body more important than you.  Thank you that you are calling me to learn how to move with you.  I say, “Yes!” Please come and teach me how my body was designed to move.  Do so that I might be freed up to love you with all of me and that I would love people well from my overflow – Amen.

Leave a Reply

