No complaining!


As you know, from reading my blog, I am on a mission to change how I think about myself, my relationships, my love, my life and God.  I have this wonderful tendency to expect the worst, even when I am thinking positive thoughts.  That is why my word for this year is Trust.  I am working on cultivating an attitude of trust in all spheres of my life, knowing that God always has the best in store for me.

stop complaining

Jeremiah 29:11 NIV

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

And so that is my word…

But, cultivating a positive outlook on life comes not just from changing how you think (although that is a major part of it), but it also comes from stopping those things that are not conducive to your edification – like complaining.

I read about this on Virtuous Woman Exposed, and something inside of so strongly related to what she was saying…

On a side note though – if you have ever felt anxious in your life, or believed the “what if” lie, or are currently feeling anxious or scared or you are filled with fear, please follow Virtuous Woman Exposed’s Fearless in 21 Days.  It will help you in a way that no other blog or book or website or reading material will help you.

That aside though, she mentioned in a blog post, New Year’s Resolutions For Depression Sufferers, she mentions this:

#2 – Stop complaining: Wow, usually resolutions are about doing, but I’m all about STOP DOING IT!  This was a big turn around for me when I finally clicked into what a complainer I was. I am a natural complainer, sometimes I don’t even know what to talk about if I can’t complain about something.  I have inherited this greatly from my blood line, and that has made it a hard habit to kick, and the older I get the worse it gets “Is it that hard to get good service around here?!”  But when I realized how detrimental chronic complaining is to our mental, physical health, and our relationships I started to nip it.  I am still tempted to complain, especially when I am dealing with something overwhelming, but there is a big difference between venting to solve a problem and work through something, and complaining for the sake of complaining.   Reference here.

Wow.  This really hit home for me.  I complain about everything.  Either its too hot, or too cold, or too windy.  Or the coffee isn’t strong enough, or its too strong.  Or the coffee is too early, or they’re bringing it late (where I work).  Or the adverts on TV aren’t entertaining enough, or, or, or…

You get my point?

And so, besides for learning how to trust – I am going to focus this year on stopping my little complaints department I have going on.  I had no idea that I complained so much – all the time, until I was made completely aware of it through this blog post.  And stopping isn’t easy – in fact, for me, complaining has become part of a communication pattern with me – I joke about the weather in the form of a complaint, or tease about poor service but in actual fact it’s a complaint.  I’m not sure I know how to communication or just talk to people without complaining and expecting everything to be done to my standard.  Who says my standard is so great anyway?

So, I have already failed many times since the New Year started, but I have become painfully aware of how often I complain.  And I think the best way to combat a complaining attitude is to adopt an attitude of gratitude.

What are your thoughts?
One thought on “No complaining!

  1. Hey! Thanks so much for referring my blog! I’m so with you with the complaining it’s such a big part of me it’s hard to nip. One thing I want to focus on more to help is by being more generous. Something I really want the Lord to help me with!

    Like

Leave a Reply

