Day 19 – #21daysofthanks


“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus” (I Thessalonians 5:18, NIV). http://proverbs31.org/devotions/devo/

Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.  – 1 Thessalonians 5:18 http://www.incourage.me/channel/blog

This verse has popped out at me lately from all over the place – perhaps I am looking for it, because it has milled about in my brain for a couple of days.  Often we are desperate to know the will of God, to know what it is He wants us to do.  And it’s simple – He wants us to give thanks, which means to live a life of gratitude.

What is God’s will?

God’s will is for us to be thankful in all circumstances…

The focus is on our hearts, on who we are, on the condition of our souls – not on what we do.  Why?  Because God already has His plans laid out for us.

Jeremiah 29:11 NIV:  For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

And our response should be to give thanks.  Because God is already in control and our futures already lie in His hands, we can take a step back and quite simply say, “thank you, Lord”.  This is God’s will.  I know, because the Bible tells me so.

As a human race, we are all control freaks to some degree – some more than others, but living a life of gratitude and giving thanks shows that you have given up that control and you are thanking God for all your blessings and His plans that He has bestowed on you.

Now, I know why gratitude is so important.

Day 19 – #21daysofthanks

Have confidence in the all the choices you have made today and be grateful for being able to believe in yourself.

I’m more grateful that I believe in a God who loves me so much, He gave His son to die for me, for my husband and for my daughter, that He has plans for us that will prosper us and not harm us, and that I can live a life of peace by simply giving thanks…

2 thoughts on “Day 19 – #21daysofthanks

Leave a Reply

