Teaching Baby Girl that it is “okay”


Last week, I read a post from We Are That Family on 9 Things We Should Add to Our Kids Lives to Help Them, and the first point is teaching your kids that it will be okay.

The words “It’s Okay” because it is.  And if it’s not, we will figure out a way to get through whatever tough spot we find ourselves.  Knowing that there is grace to learn and fail is half the journey.  Because our kids are going to mess up.  And so are we.  And at the end of the day, we just need to know that it’s going to be okay because love wins.  Reference here.

Yesterday morning, Baby Girl had a bit of an upset tummy.  It only lasted the morning, and by lunch time she felt better.  But, while she wasn’t feeling well, she must have asked me at least a dozen times (if not more…) will the tummy bug be over today, will she get better, can she have tea and toast, will she be sick forever…

It is exhausting answering these questions over and over…  and it is even more exhausting trying to calm a little girl’s mind who was clearly worried about not being well.  And I eventually made her say the words, “Mommy, I know that I am okay and that I will be okay, but…” before every question she asked me.  You see,

Romans 10:17

…faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.  Reference here.

Then it stands to reason that many other things will come from hearing as well.  Isn’t it what we listen to, what we hear out loud that takes center stage in our minds and thoughts?  That is why God is so adamant that we hear His word – it is in the hearing that we have faith (and I do believe that hearing includes reading, too.)  But, I wanted Baby Girl to hear the words, “I am okay.”  The more she hears it from herself, from me and from her Dad, the more she will believe it.  The more she believes it, the more she will react to life knowing that she will be okay…

But, what is even more important in teaching Baby Girl faith, is that I must have that faith too.  I need to believe that life will be okay – that God has our best interests at heart, and that no matter how we are battling financially, or battling anxiety, or whatever may come across our paths today, WE.  WILL.  BE.  OKAY!!!

And we will.

And I can feel deep inside me that it is becoming easier and easier (by the grace of God) to believe that.

IT.  WILL.  BE.  OKAY!

Say that out loud.  Listen to the words.  Really hear what you are saying.  Now believe them!  Because after all is said and done, and no matter how hard or trying or difficult your situation may be, it will be okay.  Why?

Because God is on your side.

Romans 8:28

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.  Reference here.

And so I want Baby Girl to hear those words, and I want her to see in me and in her Dad that it will be okay.  That doesn’t mean we won’t face tough times or tough circumstances, but knowing that God is on our side, and having a faith and a believe that no matter what, it will be okay…

Because it will be.

And what this also means is that we can be brave in facing the future, and be brave in trying new things, and be brave when facing unknown circumstances and be brave in moving out of our comfort zones…

Because

It.  Will.  Be.  Okay.

Jeremiah 29:11-13

For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.  Reference here.

Refine Us says it so much better than what I can:

Our words carry power.  They have the power to usher in life or the power to bring about death.  There are days that I live in this and get this right.  I breathe life into my kids.  I build up my wife.  I am life-giving to my friends.

Our words matter.  Our words have weight.  Our words create or our words tear down.

We often we forget their power…we take for granted their influence…we overlook their potential.  We encounter so many words and we say so many words we don’t realize how critical they can be in the lives and hearts of those we love most.

The words I Am Okay and It Will Be Okay are words I want to teach myself, my hubby and Baby Girl.

4 thoughts on “Teaching Baby Girl that it is “okay”

Leave a Reply

