Thoughts


A friend once told me, way back when I was in college, that God often deals with issues like the layers of an onion.  And keeps dealing with them until there is nothing left to peel away.

Lately, my mind has been in the wild, ecstatic throes of passionate negative thinking.  And negative thinking can be addictive.  The emotions arising from negative thinking and fantasizing, the “what if” scenarios, the planning and back-up plans “just in case”…

It feels like all that hard work that I have done over the last few years in getting my mind and thoughts right, have been chucked out of the window over the last couple of days.  And I have battled to focus – and get my thinking right.  And I know why – I am completely, out of my mind, exhausted.  And stressing about anxiety is only set to make one even more tired.  Constantly living on your guard – in case I go back to those awful months after Baby Girl’s arrival.  I keep watching myself, keeping making sure that all is okay – when what I really need to do is just surrender.  Just let go – and let God take over.  It is what he tells us to do…

Psalm 55:22

Cast your burden upon the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken.  Reference here.

Anyway, I’ve had this amazing thought today.  The Lord spoke to me, as He so often does if I would just quieten my anxious mind enough to listen.  One of my very favourite bible passages is Jeremiah 29:11:

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Now, if God can think such amazingly positive thoughts towards us – all of us (even those who don’t yet believe in Him), how much more must we not think positive thoughts towards ourselves?  And others?  And God?

I know that this negative thinking is so ingrained in me that sometimes I wonder if I will ever get to a point where I can let my guard down and just be.  I don’t think so.  I think Satan is just waiting for that opportunity so that he can…

1 Peter 5:8-11

Be alert and of sober mind.  Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.  Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings.  And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.  To him be the power for ever and ever.  Amen.  (Reference here).

Notice a few things from the 1 Peter passage:

  • Be alert.
  • Be of sober (sound) mind.
  • Resist him – implies an active resistance.
  • Other believers are going through the same thing – look at all the blogs on marriage, faith, belief, relationships and you will see and how people are crying out for help in their battles, in their daily lives.  Satan knows your weakness, and he will use it to harm you and to hurt you.
  • HE will restore you.
  • HE will make you strong, firm and steadfast – perhaps a time will come when I will no longer battle this negative thinking, if I am strong, firm and steadfast.
  • HE is the power.

So, if God thinks good things of you – and only wants what is best for you, then shouldn’t we align ourselves to the way God thinks?  And want what is best for us too?

Of course its not easy…
But, the Bible does say that I can do all things…

Philippians 4:13

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  Reference here.

thoughts2
5 thoughts on “Thoughts

Leave a Reply

