Halloween


Jack-o-lantern
Jack-o-lantern (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m a Christian – if you don’t know this by now, clearly you need to read my blog a little more:-).  It is the only religion in the world that makes sense to me.  And as a Christian, I do not believe in nor follow Halloween.

Says me who loves any vampire, witch or wizard book, movie or story that I can find.  The difference for me, though, is that reading Harry Potter is just a story.  I know it to be a story and it doesn’t have any affect on what I believe or my faith at all.  And I know that doesn’t hold true for everyone, so I do think it is a personalised decision – if it affects your faith, don’t watch or read it.  If it doesn’t, I see no harm in it – they’re just stories.  And good stories at that.

However, having said that, I don’t follow Halloween nor am I particularly keen to celebrate Halloween in any particular way.  Its not a celebration that, as a Christian, I want to be part of.  Halloween is relatively new to South Africa – as children, we only had vague stories of this holiday being celebrated mostly by the Americans.  It was never a celebration that happened here in South Africa.  But, our world is growing smaller, and now it is fast becoming part of our culture here in South Africa.

Bearing all this in mind, I was quite surprised at how much I enjoyed Halloween yesterday.  And for this one simple reason – it brought all the people living in our complex together in fun and laughter and enjoyment.  And that was amazing.  There were about 10 children all running from house-to-house in our complex, shouting at the top of their voices, “Trick or Treat, give us something good to eat…”

And our little madam loved it.

She was the youngest.  And the smallest.  And although she was initially very shy and reserved, she soon got into the swing of things and had so much fun.  And now we have enough sugar to last us well into next month.  Yay!!!

Leave a Reply

