The Changes I’ve Made…


 

A dozen boiled eggs with lion marks visible in...
A dozen boiled eggs with lion marks visible in a saucepan. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Changes I’ve Made“Have patience with all things, but chiefly have patience with yourself.  Do not lose courage in considering your own imperfections but instantly set about remedying them — every day begin the task anew.” – Saint Francis de Sales

I am really battling with my weight.  The person in the mirror is not me – it’s some huge, fat chick staring back at me.  Where has my skinniness gone?  I know where – I developed some fear of getting thin and of not eating, and this is the result.  So, while I feel like a complete failure, I have made some changes that I hope will benefit me in the long run.

Firstly, no toast – I have not had toast in about two weeks (strange how the bread, butter and marmite seems to last longer now).

Secondly, diary is 2% – no more full cream.  So, all the milk, yoghurt, etc. is all 2%.  That apparently will make a difference in time to come.

Also, I read that you must start the day with a protein and end your day with protein – so, instead of having my two boiled eggs at work and toast in the morning, I just have my two eggs, scrambled at about 06:30 in the morning.

And I’m also watching my portion size – mainly with supper, as it is easier than doing that than at work, but I will eventually get there.

05:00 – Five slices of toast (now down to 2 slices of toast)

06:30 – two scrambled eggs

08:30 – 3 Provita Sandwiches (used to be 4 Provita sandwiches)

09:45 – bowl of Instant Oats with low fat yoghurt, and low fat milk

10:00 – Rooibos Tea

11:30 – Lunch: half my lunch

13:30 – Lunch: my other half

14:30 – Fruit, with some pieces of biltong or nuts (May still have a muffin now and then, but this is my new goal to work on – get rid of the afternoon eating – just a light snack to see me through to supper)

17:30 – Supper (now smaller portion – unless I’m really hungry)

But, flip, if someone can tell me how to turn off the hunger that would be so great…  There is also a five kilometre fun walk on Saturday, and if the weather holds, Baby Girl and I will be doing that.  Just walking – slowly – and taking it easy, but it is a start.  However, if the weather is bad, that will go out the window, so let’s hope the weather is good on Saturday morning here in good, old Port Elizabeth.

The Baby Mama

P.S.  I am so hungry, I could gnaw my wrist off – I have to stop thinking about food and eating, and start thinking about something else…

One thought on “The Changes I’ve Made…

Leave a Reply

