Names…


Paul_McCartney
Image via Wikipedia

I got this off Ashley’s blog – Writing to Reach You and thought it was kind cute, so it has become today’s post.

1. How did your parents decide on your name?

All I can say is, Thank you Paul McCartney

2. Do your initials (First, Middle, Last) spell out anything fun/funny?

No!  It’s very plain and boring – sorry.

3. Did you take your middle name from childhood or did you take your maiden name as your middle name? (If unmarried, what do you plan to do?)

I am married and very proudly have my husband’s name.  I wouldn’t even consider any other option.

4. Are you or will you name your children thematically (ie. same first letter, all of same origin…)

Nah – it’ll be whatever comes to mind.  Baby Girl chose her name when I was only about eight weeks pregnant with her.  Sometimes, I don’t think the parents have a choice…:)

5. Did you decide on baby names as a little girl? Did you stick to them or change your mind?

I’ve always like the name Christine – in fact, I really wished my parents had called me Christine.  I also loved the name Emily.  Neither of which is Baby Girl’s name – like I said, she chose her name and we were obliged to give it to her.

6. Does your family have any names that have been passed down through generations?

No.

7. Do you look at the meaning of the name or just the name itself?

I do look at the meaning of the name – Baby Girl’s name means “breath of life”, which I thought was really pretty.  But, I’ve got to like the name itself as well.

8. Do you name pets with human names (Sally, Henry) or with pet names (Fluffy, Mr. Bo)?

I could go either way, but tend more towards proper pet names.  Although I do like giving human names to a pet – sounds kinda cool, but none of our pets have ever had human names.

9. Are there any names that you have an affinity or dislike for based on a childhood experience/someone you once knew?

Well, let’s put it this way – none of my kids will ever be called Sandi, or will be named after any of my ex’s or the hubby’s ex’s. And definitely won’t be a common name – thanks to Uncle Paul, my name is very VERY common (we had eight kids in my Standard seven class all with the same name – I kid you not).

10. What are some of your favorite names? Why?

I like unusual names – not to unusual, you don’t want your kids to be ragged through school.  I don’t like common names, but also quite like traditional names as well.  I think I would consider the person/pet being named and see what would suit them and then decide.

Now its your turn…

The Baby Mama

2 thoughts on “Names…

Leave a Reply

