In loving memory – 15.10.2000 to 18.01.2011


In loving memory to the most beautiful dog the world has ever known, I love you so much and your sudden departure yesterday has left a gaping hole in my world.  I want to thank you for all the love, joy and laughter you brought to our home, for the gentle way you looked after us, and nudged us when you wanted some loving.

I remember when we went to fetch you just outside Port Alfred, you sat on my lap all the way home to Port Elizabeth.  You just settled there – like you knew you belonged.  And you did.  I remember how frustrated I felt that you had – at one time – dug almost 70 holes in our back yard.  Now, I’d do anything to have you digging more holes.  You aged too quickly – we thought we had you for another couple of years.

There are so many fond memories that your Dad and I will carry around with us in our hearts – like the time you thought us defrosting lamb chops outside was the best treat you’d ever receive.  Or the time you stole one of my teddy’s – a gift from your dad – and you carefully carried it out just by its paw.  I caught you when you were digging the hole outside to bury it.  Or the time you stole a potato from the kitchen.  I remember you flicking your body so that you’d get your dog chain off and how you’d be fast asleep when we got home from work, and we had to physically touch you before you woke up.  It was then that we realised that you were deaf.

But being deaf didn’t stop you from protecting our family, looking after us and being one of us.  I remember how you used to dart and rush up to dogs locked behind gates when we were taking you for a walk and when they were barking ballistically, you’d calmly saunter off – almost grinning at the chaos you had caused.  I remember how you came inside at 02:00 in the morning to hide behind me while your Dad tried to get the neighbours dogs to stop barking all night – in fairness, you were just a young pup.  And how the first time you saw a cow at the Lake Farm Charity Walk, you bolted away so fast your Dad could barely hold onto your leash.  I, walking a bit behind, collapsed with laughter and people around me must have thought I was insane.

Your Dad and I adored you Big Dog and we can’t believe that you have gone.  Our greatest blessing was seeing you with Baby Girl – how you would lie outside her door every night after she had gone down to protect her – how you would watch us handling her to make sure all was Okay, to see how gentle you were with her.  Even this morning, she woke up asking for you.  I am glad we got the chance to say goodbye to you and that you so richly blessed our lives.  I can’t wait until the day we meet in Heaven for it is my firm belief that you will be waiting there for us.

Thank you, Big Dog, thank you.

The Baby Mama

4 thoughts on “In loving memory – 15.10.2000 to 18.01.2011

Leave a Reply

