Day 09 → Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted


Friends at Columbia University.
Image via Wikipedia

In school I had this friend – I thought we had the kind of friendship where we would be sitting today, drinking wine and chatting about our babies.  But, alas, it was not meant to be.  This is one of the major hurts of my life – I adored my friend.  She, however, was quite happy to move on.  When I left school, I studied Theology in Johannesburg for three years.  She stayed behind in Port Elizabeth.  I wrote her a letter at least once a month, and got maybe one letter from her in the entire three years I was away.  And when I came home on holidays, she wouldn’t return my calls or anything.  Eventually, I just had to accept that our friendship had been limited to high school and would not continue into the big world with us leaving school.  I still miss her.  We had some great times together.

The Baby Mama

One thought on “Day 09 → Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted

Leave a Reply

