A few good reads…


Cover of "The Blind Assassin"
Cover of The Blind Assassin

I’m a reader.  Not as much as I used to be able to, but very seldom will you find me without a book in my hand or on my bedside cabinet.  Even through sleep deprivation, and a hectic life with a 14 month old Baby Girl, I still read – it may just take me a lot longer to finish a book these days, but read I must.  So, I thought I’d share some of my favourite authors and books with you.

The only genre of book I do not read are autobiographies or biographies or historical books.  I like stories.  Intriguing and interesting stories.  Okay, there is one biography that I read and loved, Truman Capote.  I have this thing about the 20’s, 30’s and 40’s.  I am fascinated and intrigued by the wealth and extravagance that afforded Truman Capote the opportunity of hiring an entire Greek island for summer so that he can work on his book.  I mean seriously, where do you ever hear of that today?

Anyway, so that is the only biography I’ve ever read and will quite gladly read it again.

So, my favourite authors are:

  1. Margret Atwood
  2. James Patterson
  3. Terry Pratchett
  4. Jean M. Auel
  5. J.R. Tolkien
  6. Charles Dickens
  7. Jodi Picoult
  8. Wilbur Smith
  9. Dan Brown
  10. Douglas Adams
  11. C.S. Lewis
  12. Marian Keyes
  13. Harper Lee (who only wrote one book, but it was brilliant)
  14. M. Scott Peck

Okay, those are my favourite authors – the top being Margaret Atwood.  Seriously, you have got to read Oryx and Crake and The Blind Assassin.  Absolutely brilliant.  Absolutely riveting – I could not put either book down.  Then, my next favourite book would be Lord of the Rings, and anything by Terry Pratchett (sadly, this man appeals to my loony side of my brain).

Although, I have also enjoyed Twilight (yes, I am a Twilight fan).  I have read all the books and they really are excellent reading.  Even though for a much younger audience (hey, I’m still a kid at heart), I thoroughly enjoyed the books.

I also enjoyed Dan Brown’s books, as well as Wilbur Smith.  As long as there is a good story and intriguing reading, there is a pretty good chance I’ll enjoy it.

I’ve kept most of my childhood books and I really hope that Baby Girl will enjoy reading as much as what I do, because there are some awesome books there for her to read, The Naughtiest Little Girl, The Wishing Chair, Famous Five, Secret Seven, Jock of the Bushveld, Nancy Drew – yes, I have kept all these books.  I won’t force her to read if that’s not her thing, but I will highly encourage it.

What are your favourite books and authors?

The Baby Mama

P.S.  I also loved Lord of the Rings and anything by Douglas Adams (I mean, the answer to life is 42, is it not?)

5 thoughts on “A few good reads…

  1. Cool!
    We have a lot of authors “in common”! I’m a huge Pterry fan as well as Douglas Adams. I’ve read The Hitchhikers Guide so many times… And King and Koontz and Patricia Cornwell.

    Like

  2. It’s so hard to pin point my absolute favourite, but one book I really enjoyed was ‘Everything is Illuminated’ by Jonathan Safran Foer (and his other 2 are brilliant). Recently I’ve started reading a lot more, and am really grateful that I have the time to do it. I also really like CS Lewis.. I read a couple of books by him and was impressed. Then, the comedy/fantasy side of me swings towards Christopher Moore and Piers Anthony. Oh… and anything to do with the Russian Revolution. K I think I’m done hah!
    Thanks so much for your lovely comment on my blog today 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

