It’s my party…


Port Elizabeth
Image by exfordy via Flickr

Recently, hubby and I have been going through a bit of a rough patch.  Nothing serious, but with sleep deprivation, huge financial stress and running around after a 14 month old Toddler without any rest, things are not as carefree and relaxed as what we’d like it to be.  Seriously, having a baby with the financial burden we bear is not easy.  You so desperately want to give your child the best of everything, and yet, at the same time, you just can’t and the guilt that society throws at you for not being able to do it all, can be very overwhelming.  (Especially when you’re part of a mom’s group that go to Mauritius or overseas at least twice a year and you haven’t been able to go on holiday at all for how long…)

So, yesterday was my birthday and yes, I am heading very quickly for the wrong side of “over the hill” and I was expecting yesterday to be a stressful day.  But, hubby and I had a good heart-to-heart yesterday morning, and besides being spoilt with a full hour swedish body massage, I had a fantastic day.  Baby Girl also enjoyed all the visitors and although it was a low-key day spent at home with family, it was an awesome day.  The most important being that hubby and I could clear the air on some stressful issues and renewed ourselves to being happily married – as opposed to just existing.

And even better, my mom’s boss is unable to take up his timeshare in Plett this year, so we have offered to purchase it from him.  So, we will be having a whole week (Saturday to Saturday) in Plett in the middle of November.  I can’t wait.  Seriously, in the 11 years that hubby and I have been married, we’ve had a “proper” holiday only three times (I say “proper” because we have been to Cape Town to visit his family, but I don’t count this as taking a holiday).  We went overseas in 2002 on a Contiki tour, in the beginning of 2005, we spent a couple of days in Victoria Bay, and then in 2008 we went to Augrabies and Kimberley.  And that’s it – in 11 years.  So, I am really looking forward to a whole week in Plett.  I have no idea how we’re going to pay for it, but we will make a plan.

So, yes, I had a fantastic birthday and I am really enjoying the beautiful rain that Port Elizabeth is having today.

The Baby Mama

2 thoughts on “It’s my party…

Leave a Reply

